Legal Help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Legal Help

In my wife's never ending battle to keep me mentally grounded she often buys woodworking books for me. I have given up on trying to find the jewelry box I was looking for and have decided to try a Pennsylvania Spice Box I found in one of the Tauton series, "Great Designs From Fine Woodworking, Furniture." I suspect I can use the plans to make the spice box for home use, but is there any specific or implied limitations on the sale of something made from plans taken from a magazine?

Thanks,
    Tom

Re: Legal Help

Disclaimer: I'm no lawyer!

I can't imagine there's any such stipulation (home use only) with any typical project plan, but to be honest, I've never thought about it before. Unless there's a statement somewhere in the documentation that explicitly says "not for commercial use" it's probably OK.

The Template Master from Stots, for example, has a license agreement sticker on it that the user must remove in order to use it (so it's not likely the user will miss it). The agreement states that the user will not reproduce the template for sales purposes or pass it around for others to use for free. But the template is unique in that regard, because it's purpose is "to clone itself" as the Stots website says, so I can see the problem with selling products made from it (itself!). That would be like reproducing (or sharing) the actual project plans, an obvious breach of legal consent.

That's actually a pretty good question. The magazine editor would know (or find out).

- djb
    Last edited by djb; 03-03-2007, 07:21 AM.
    sigpic

A Democracy is 2 wolves and 1 sheep voting on what to have for lunch.

Restore the Republic.

Comment