X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting Drain Cleaning business - Need advice

I am planning on starting a drain cleaning service and need some advice. I've been doing plumbing work for about 5 years and believe I know enough to get started. I know I have a lot to learn, but I've learned alot from the drain cleaning guys that I've worked with in on different jobs in the past. But some of the stories I hear are kind of scary

I have helped our main sewer guy carry his Spartan 300 machine up and down stairs so I know how much of a PITA it can be LOL! But, besides him (he's very busy with his own work), it has been really hard to find a good drain cleaning guy that will be where he says he'll be and can communicate well.

I plan on getting the Spartan 300 for main drains and then the Spartan 100 with 3 different drums (with different sized cable) to use on 1 1/4 - 3" lines.

In the future, once funds are available, I would like to get a camera and do recorded tapings of main drains. Any thoughts on what type of setup to get?

Lastly, for those that dig up the yard and install a new cleanout, what process do you use??

Thanks in advance to all those that can help out
    YourHomeContractor.com - The Trusted Online Community For Homeowners and Contractors.

Plumbing Reviews

Re: Starting Drain Cleaning business - Need advice

Welcome to the forum. Not sure of the cost But you could get a ridgid k- 60 and handle most of the jobs you may have. The down side is it a sectional cable machine. The good side is it's not going to beat your back up as much. You use 7/8" cable on drain 2" to 4" and 5/8" for 1-1/2 to 2" and hand held drills for smaller drain lines. As for digging up yard for clean outs. Most are done by hand digging most are only 3 feet deep. Good luck

Comment