X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advertising

Hello,I'm new to this forum pretty interesting stuff.

I'm a journey man plumber and I started working for myself 6 months ago.
    I was wondering about advertising,some tradesman tell me not to waste
    the money I'll get most of my business word of mouth.Then some tell me
    advertise advertise advertise.Any thoughts?

CJ Mac

Re: Advertising

It's a bit of a catch 22 eh? How are you going to get referrals if nobody knows about you in the first place?

I think your goal should be to eliminate your advertising budget. You'd do this with exceptional service. The more people who are happy with you and refer you to others, the more your phone will ring and the less you'll need to spend on ads.

Comment

How much you need to advertise depends on many factors, such as the number of plumbers in your area, and the population. Some types of advertising work well if your local area population is over 200,000, and some types of advertising don't seem to work at all.

Personally, I've never found anything that works, but the population of my area is small. I used to get more than I wanted by word of mouth, but now there are too many plumbers in the area and I'm seriously thinking about exploring different types of advertising, such as door hangers, mailers, etc.

In some areas, it seems as if whoever has the biggest, most expensive phone book ad is more likely to get the call, in other areas, people look for the simple one-line listing because they want it cheap.

Some plumbers charge so much that they have to have a lot of advertising to offset their lack of repeat business. Some charge so little that they have to work seven days a week and evenings to keep up.

Comment

cj, welcome to the forum