X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how much $

i have been a journeyman plumber for 5 years and was an apprentice for 3 years,i work for a company now and will be taking my masters in 4 months

i have been reading some old threads and saw a couple people have just started their business (service guy,drain medic) ,thats my plan but not for another year or two
    i already have my own truck(stocked) ,most of the tools i will need,
    drain machines,and some steady customers (investors/rehabs/bar owers)
    that i do side work for

how much money would you need to save to start a service/drain business (insurance,advertising,ect)
    i am trying to do all my research now and be prepared in a year or two

Re: how much $

i like to have a 3 month cash reserve in the bank judt in case something happens. that covers the van, gas, advertising, insurance, my salary, etc.

now your circumstances will vary but that's my fallback

steve
    In the never ending struggle to keep the water flowing.... The Poo Poo Cowboy rides again!!!

Comment

Originally posted by stxrus View Post
      i like to have a 3 month cash reserve in the bank judt in case something happens. that covers the van, gas, advertising, insurance, my salary, etc.

now your circumstances will vary but that's my fallback

steve
      Exactly what I was just gonna say.

The cost to open a business is completely variable, depending on what source of advertising, tools needed, and overhead.
      But regardless...make damned sure you have at least 3 months banked for survival, times DO get tight.

Comment

A general rule of thumb is it takes 5-years for a business (any business) to start being profitable. Those businesses which survive the hard times are those who have enough capitol for a one year reserve. That does not mean you cannot accomplish it with less but the percentage go way up when you do.

Mark