X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opportunity for Advancement

At our Backflow Association in my hometown area, there's an opening for vice president to the Backflow Association Program.

It's a 2 year commitment that gives some inside source knowledge to the association and what not.

I don't know if it pays anything, have no clue.

The meetings, 4 a year including the PHCC convention in February is all part of this.

Get to deal with Conbraco, Midwest, Watts, Febco to name a few in the industry with new products, cross-connection histories and the like.

As I've mentioned, I'm a businessman first but I wanted to see if you all thought it would be a good idea to accept this position or not.

It's open to all for the position. I believe my qualifications are met given I'm a Master Plumber along with being a tester for the past 10 years now.

The meetings unfortunately are lackluster and they consist of a dinner and some small talk, maybe a few guest speakers that make it interesting.

I stand to gain if I take this position; this is a fine compliment to my second business with the credential potential.

The president position would be something I wouldn't be interested in given the fact I'm not testing these units, along with the limited time I've had with repairing/replacing them.

I'll be first to admit that I gained that credential years ago solely for the knowledge base, knowing that it's something I'd like to say is a fine compliment to my profession.

I would truly like to see across the United States the enactment of every journeyman plumber MUST take a course in backflow/cross-connection prevention.

Should I or shouldn't I? It's worth my time in the long run.

I'd like to say that I can sometimes be motivational on these plumbing forums from time to time jogging questions about big picture topics.