No announcement yet.

New plumbing tool

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New plumbing tool

I have come up with a tool that I needed & couldn't find any where.I call it the third hand Plumber. I would like to market it but don't know how with out some one sealing my Idea?

Re: New plumbing tool

I've never known a plumber that didn't have to make or modify a tool
    for a specific purpose. We've all been in situations where you do what
    you gotta do to get the job done. Don't mean to pee in your corn flakes
    but I doubt yours is an original idea.

first of all I am no expert,

first of all contact a lawyer, and get a non discloser agreement with any one you talk to about the idea, If you think the unit is patent able, then maybe on should look in that avenue to protect you idea for a time, (that will cost money), also the more you can put into the patent the better the protection, (in other words if the idea can be slightly altered with a slightly different concept, and accomplish the same thing, one may need a different angle to the patent,

one way one can some what do your own patent search, is to go to Google patents,
      and type in the search as many different words and combinations of words that many describe your idea, and see if it have been done,
      and get creative, for example say you have some type of pipe wrench holder,
      one can see there are multiple ways of describing much the same process,
      a few examples, are from the titles on the searches
      "pipe clamping device"
      "pipe wrench stand",
      "pipe tool",
      "combination tool for pipe fitters"
      you may stumble across a similar idea and you may not, and you may get more ideas,
      if you can not find any thing that resembles it or does similar, (keep the numbers of the ideas that may represent what your doing so your lawyer can see if there any "infringement", if the product was produced, and the chances of your idea being able to get a patent on it,