Vacs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vacs

I'm new to the discussion board but have been browsing for a while. I've seen some interesting posts on various modifications and interesting uses for wet/dry vacs.

I was just curious what other modifications or uses anyone has found particularly beneficial.

Thanks.
    Ben

Ben,

Welcome to the forum. I am fairly new here myself. There seems to be a lot of knowledgeable people here that are quite willing to share their experiences in a pleasant manner.

Regarding your question about shop vac "other" uses; I was hoping to see what some of the responses would be, but apparently the subject has not been noticed. So, let me add a couple of my own thoughts.

First, shop vacs do two things... they suck up dust and other debris and they blow filtered air with some force. The filtering of course depends on the quality of the filter and how clean you keep the vac. That said, it is an indispensable tool if you are going to make any kind of a mess (sawdust, woodchips, spills, remodeling debris, etc., etc., etc.. Heck, I've even used my older shop vac to suck out a few clogged kitchen drains (definitely need a wet vac for that, and then clean it immediatly).

I recently purchased the little "Stinger" vac (available at HD for about $26) which is also made by Ridgid. It is only 2 gallons, but has enough power to clean up most small messes, wet or dry. The filters for my old Craftsman vac are getting expensive and they don't filter out drywall dust; and, the thing is too large to carry up too many stairs. The little "Stinger" is about perfect for moving from room to room as I scrape, sand, and cut during are recent remodeling. Using a longer hose, it works perfectly with my random orbit sander and escaping dust is minimal. Also, a quick change of the hose from one end to the other and I have a fairly decent blower.