X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Owner's Manuals--Who Writes These?!?

I'm brand-new to the Ridgid family, having just purchased the 12" CMS w/laser. I'm also relatively new to remodeling and woodworking. My biggest remodeling/building experience to date was gutting and redoing a bedroom three years ago that included painting and laying Pergo. By myself. With a hand-held 7.25" circular saw and a rented 10" miter for cutting baseboard. By myself. No helper whatsoever. (I'm female, too, just so you know.)

This time, I opted to invest in my very own CMS before gutting yet another bedroom and going through the whole Pergo experience again. I figured it would be much easier to do with a CMS than a hand-held.

The tool itself is an excellent piece of machinery, nice to look at, not too heavy, and operates smoothly. It's a nice bonus to include the stand. I'm very pleased and believe I made the right choice.

The manual, however, is awful. Important details are missing that are integral to assembling the saw, unless you have prior experience with this type of tool, and some of the drawings are indecipherable.

I found that it spoke to the professional who has a strong background in the construction trade, overlooking the possibility that the purchaser might not have this background--therefore it was written with the expectation of "assumed knowledge". A considerable amount of time was spent "translating" the manual and trying to figure out exactly what "double D flats" were (neither musical references nor anatomical), for example, and what neat trick had to be done to allow the lock pin to unlock (aha, push down on the handle first), among other things.