Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• r.i.p. not smart use some sense on the job!

im an electrician in south florida well there is alot of work most the time aand companys get these guys from labor pools not always good idea well i was in a high rise one job and a laborer was hired by the g.c. doing clean up not hard work but work so he is picking up and cleaning up from area to area when he comes across a piece of plywood on the floor never mind the block of wood nailed next to it holding it down he proceed to get the block holding wood down off and standing in front of the sheet bends down grabs wood sheet and raise's it up and toward his head as he picked it up and startd to walk forward he FELL THRU THE HOLE THE BOARD WAS COVERING 5 TO 6 FLOORS DOWN sad to say he did not make it .. PAY ATTENTION TO WHAT U DO ON SITE IT MAY COST U YOUR LIFE.....
    osha locked site down 3 days

Re: r.i.p. not smart use some sense on the job!

what did osha have to say? was the board brightly painted red or caution? not sure if that is all that's required we had an identical thing happen around 5 years ago on a similar job as you described with the same end results.

unfortunately the ones covering the holes know what they're for.

very sad when it happens at a job site you're working at.

rick.
    phoebe it is

Comment

Just think,if anybody was worried about doing a very good job and became distracted,something similar could happen to them.

Comment

I have been running work since I was 17 & no matter how much instruction or how much you watch someone some people always find a way to get hurt. I give my employees a safety bonus if no one in the company has a time loss accident in a year. That way everybody is watching out for everyone else. I've had no time loss accidents in 3 years with 48 employees. Just as soon as you make it idiot proof they come up with a better idiot.

Comment