Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

1000lbs, a steering wheel, a plumber, and a head-on collision=?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1000lbs, a steering wheel, a plumber, and a head-on collision=?

when i worked in montreal i was cleaning, organizing, and stocking my assigned work van.

while i was doing that i noticed the bins located directly behind me weren't all that beefy. in other words, cheap and cheap.

i didn't give much thought until one day a crazy driver down there decided to try and "beat the train". i almost t-boned him. good thing i'm a defensive driver otherwise i wouldn't be telling you this story.

after that experience i started to think to myself about what just happened and the big picture, again.

i say 1000lbs because i figure there was about 500lbs of stock behind me X 2g's of force just for the sake of argument.

i also figure that amount of force would cut me in half when the fittings and i met with the steering wheel in a head-on. i myself would have used an anchor system for the bins JUUUUUST a little more NASCAR like.

three things happened that day;

1 - i drove even more deffesively

2 - i never drove that van with my seat belt on so i would have at least a fighting chance of moving over if i had the time

3 - it happened to me so i could share this story with you and hopefully, prevent a needless tragidy.

Vince

Re: 1000lbs, a steering wheel, a plumber, and a head-on collision=?