X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• generator

Hi everyone I'm a contractor and just got the job to build a 2400 sq ft deck the only peoblem is the nearest plug is 300' away. So i going to need a generator if anyone chould give me any help as to what brands i should look at and the ones i should stay away from that whould be great. I work by myself so i just need to run 1 power tool such as a mitre saw or small compressor and 1 or 2 battery chargers for cordless tools at any time. Thanks for the help Bob

Re: generator

Don't have a generator myself but if you don't find yourself in situations too often where you need portable power (and it appears that you don't because you don't have one now) I think I would consider renting a generator for the first job or two, and maybe try different model generators each time you rent. Then after trying a one or two you will know what to look for (and look out for) on any model you might consider.

It may sound like you are throwing money away on the rentals but if it gets you a model in the end that is more reliable and easier to use is it not worth it to not be stuck with a POS that you will cuss at for the next couple years?
    ---------------
    Light is faster than sound. That's why some people seem really bright until you hear them speak.
    ---------------
    “If I had my life to live over again, I'd be a plumber.” - Albert Einstein
    ---------
    "Its a table saw.... Do you know where your fingers are?"
    ---------
    sigpic http://www.helmetstohardhats.com/

Comment

i need just alittle more info such as will you plan on putting into full time service even after this job? would you use it in your area for power failures? is it something you use for this job only? what is your price range? and what stores are near you that sell witch generators? but most any 6-700 watt gen will work for what you have said so far, i hope that helps some
      9/11/01, never forget.