X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Musicians... What do you play

Noticed a few of you talking about playing guitar. Wonered how many other musicians we have on the board here.

I used to play base in a heavy metal band. (Covered Pantera and Metallica) Our only gig got rained out so I ended up playing Rush with the band for a few months. I then lead worship in my churches college group for a few years. Now I just play guitar and piano for the boys to keep em quiet when they are rowdy.

Self taught on guitar and piano.

Josh

Re: Musicians... What do you play

8 years formal clarinet. self taught sax and flute. couldn't get the flute. mostly self taught guitar.

if anyone is really interested i'll relate a guitar story that will make you cry

i currently only gig on the odd occasion and do a blues jam on sundays at a local marina. pretty cool stuff. possible beach bar house band in the offing. we'll see

i giged through college and for a short stint afterwards. was in a band in Dallas that was fun but we mostly giged at biker parties and the like.

was in a band here for 2 1/2 yeears but if folded because of too many outside interests.

currently i own a '46 Gibson BR-9 lap steel, 1975 Yamaha FG-365S with totally worn out frets, a 2000 Gibson SG (my 8th,i think), a 2003 Fender Tele (white blondew/tortoise PG) based on a 50s model (7.25 radius neck), and a 2007 Fender Strat (surf green think 50s chevy) again based on a 50s model. amp wise i hhave a '72 Princeton Reverb, a 2002 Peavey C-30, and am having a Reinhardt 18 Watt being built. it's based on the Marshall 18Ws but with some whistles and bells.

that's my story and i'm sticking to it.

steve
    In the never ending struggle to keep the water flowing.... The Poo Poo Cowboy rides again!!!

Comment

I own a couple of Ovations but even I think I suck at guitar.

Mark
      "Somewhere a Village is Missing Twelve Idiots!" - Casey Anthony