X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I the only one....

Heres the deal, I am a self employed carpenter, no employees. I do everything from tile, to framing, siding, roofing, finish work, the list seems to never end it seems. I have 3 brothers, and a father that are all carpenters as well. They help occassionally when I need help, and I help them as well when help is needed. Dad runs a cabinet shop, and one brother works with him mostly full time. Another runs his own deal, just like me, and again, no employees. The last brother works for Centex, but we hope he too will join the gang eventually. Well, sometimes I feel like I am getting to the point where I almost need to find more help. We are all busy as all get up all of a sudden it seems, and we keep getting refered to everyone it seems. We are growing a very very good reputation as the go to boys for pretty much anything and everything. BUT, I have a hard time letting work out of my hands. I am VERY critical, and if its not how I want it, I am not happy. Plus, i just dont know who I would even consider hiring anyway, and I really do NOT want to mess with Workers Comp, and the whole mess of red tape that involves having employees. I have been very blessed to have my brothers and my Father to lean on, and them having me to lean on as well is a plus. We very much enjoy working together, and also like our independence.

I know I got plenty of years left to do what I do (God willing) but I know there will come a day that my body wont handle this anymore... and I pray that by then I can retire, but sometimes I worry.

Guess I am a little overwhelmed right now and needed to vent a little. Good problem to have at this time with all the people treading water, but it can wear on ya!

Re: Am I the only one....

That was how my business was I ran, I am now basically semi retired from construction, (knee injury really messed me up) did every thing from concrete to cabinets.