Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need impeller for Ridgid shop vac. HELP!

I'm a newbie to the forum. I have a Ridgid shop vac that I really like. I use it to draw the dust from my sand blasting cabinet. Well, the impeller finally wore through. With the exception of the impeller, the rest of the vac looks and works like new. It is a model WD600 series. Can anyone help me locate a new impeller (or two)? Thank you!

Hemi-T

Re: Need impeller for Ridgid shop vac. HELP!

more than likly you will need to replace the entire vac motor as most are through air to cool the motor and if enough dirt came through the impellers to wear it out, my guess is the motor would be soon to go as well,
    It may be nearly as cheap to jsut replace the unit, the way parts are sold to day,

try Ridgid
    http://www.ridgid.com/Tools/Wet-Dry-...vice-Centers-2 For service, Call 1-800-4-RIDGID (1-800- 474-3443)

If Ridgid can not help you out, WW Grainger sells vac motors/units http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/wwg...Vacuum+Cleaner
    click on motors, on the listing where the filter picture is, middle column near bottom if the motor search does not show up, just tired the link and it come up both ways,
    Last edited by BHD; 08-19-2008, 10:27 PM.
    Push sticks/blocks Save Fingers
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good."
    attributed to Samuel Johnson
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    PUBLIC NOTICE: Due to recent budget cuts, the rising cost of electricity, gas, and oil...plus the current state of the economy............the light at the end of the tunnel, has been turned off.

Comment

Thanks BHD. The motor fan is not what wore out, it's the impeller fan inside the canister. The impeller/canister side of the motor is completely sealed off from the cooling fan/armature side, so no dirt has reached the motor.