X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Toolbox ?

Next week I am starting a new job. I will be a wrench for a lawnmower shop and I will be using my tools. At home over the years I have filled two 26" tool towers ans now I need a better toolbox for work. I can not afford Snap-On or Matco so I was thinking at Lowe's the Kobalt 9 draw tool chest. The Item # is 258147. Please give me your comments about tool boxes.

Re: Toolbox ?

Being a machinist, I am partial to Kennedy boxes. They are not ball bearing type, but they are very durable and if you clean and grease the slides every year or two, very smooth. You can also get parts to repair a 25 year old kennedy box with no problems. Price wise, they are higher than a lowes/crapsman and much lower than a snapon or Matco. J&L industrial used to have good sales on them.

Comment

Why don't you look at the red ones they sell at Horrible , er, Harbor Freight. Lots of guys have purchased them and they say they are better quality than a lot of other big name boxes out there. They often are for sale at HF, and if you can find a 15% off coupon, can get it even cheaper. Hope the new job works out too. Good luck,
      Jim Don

Comment

I went in to Harbor Freight and I just saw Chinese made tools. I noticed the tools were not even middle of the road quality. You know people that have used them.

Comment

Well….. A can of worms……..