X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• floors

Im new and looking to buy hardwood floors. need about 1200 sq feet total. Ive heard lumber liquidators is okay or a local lumber yard.. Can someone help me out where to purchase hw floors at a reasonable rate?

kaci

Re: floors

Kaci,

From my experience, that's a tough question to answer. I have no direct experience with Lumber Liquidators other than to match them with local prices.

Is this something that you intend to install yourself or are you having a local contractor to do it for you? Any prices need to take into consideration installation cost, including incidentals like baseboard, doorway, trimwork, and similar considerations. Also to be considered is the wood quality and length of the particular wood pieces.

For example, you might find a "better price" from one source, but then find that the finish, thickness, etc. is less. Also, there's a big difference in price if what you are getting is a bunch of short pieces vs pieces with a guaranteed minimum length.

This past summer we had new hardwood (red oak) installed in our first floor. The price was very good and while I'm happy with the installation and the final job, initially there was some concerns. The original shipment was mostly very short pieces (some as short as eight inches) and in the first couple of boxes that we inspected there were too many surface defects (looked like cracks or rough-looking, crack-like blemishes in the finish coating). We had the installer pack the stuff up and find another supplier, which cost a little more.

(Also, check to make sure the finish is the correct color and the right gloss or matte that you expect. The example chip they show you may not match what's in the cartons!)