X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Magazines

I think this has been asked before but what Magazines do you subscribe too?

Mine at one time were:

This Old House
    Car and Driver
    Guitar World
    Forbes
    PHC

Let them run out not too long ago. What's interesting to you?

J.C.

Re: Magazines

I don't subscribe to no magazines but I have access to a couple thousand periodical online. All full versions from American Art Journal to Wood Digest.

Check with your local library and ask them if they have Thomson Gale available for their patrons. Here in Ontario the service is free of charge to library card holders. Not all titles are available but still quite a few. From your list I found full texts of This Old House and Forbes. Dunno what PHC is.

I read mostly my job related periodicals. Since I work in IT all of what I need is available online. PC Magazine, Computer World, Wired Magazine, Linux Today etc.
    In order to understand recursion, one must first understand recursion.

Comment

For some reason I like the actual periodical in hand rather than reading it online.

Plus I have dialup and alot of them file it in Adobe which can take FOREVER for me.

J.C.

Comment

Yes, there is some magic in the printed matter. My mom was a librarian so as a kid I spent gobs of time among books and magazines. With age time has kinda shrunk. The clock still says 24 hours in a day but somehow it feels like there is only about 10. Must be because I'm metric, or maybe time follows my hair, i.e disappears somewhere.

For me electronic media is just a time saver since I spend a big chunk of my days at work with computers. Click here, click there and by the time I get home I don't feel I need to spend any more reading. I certainly avoid TV.

I do subscribe to the local daily paper though but I read only local bitching a.k.a. letters to the editor.
        In order to understand recursion, one must first understand recursion.

Comment