Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finally done!! - Josh's waterproofing.

I have been working for what feels like 2 months straight on hand digging and repairing the front basement wall of my house. Well its finally done. I just wanted to show some pics of what I did. There are no digging pictures in here (which was by far the longest part) but I wanted to show how it was finished up.

Once I dug down to the foundation I found that all the bricks that were wet had started to rot away. This stretched for about 70% of the bottom course of the wall (not good)

So I cleaned out the really loose stuff and made sure it was dug in such a way I could sure up the bottom course of bricks. There was no footer. it sat on a muddy stone filled layer below the basement floor.

I did end up pouring the "footer" in pieces to make sure I didnt dig out too much loose stuff and have my house colapse (I actually had dreams about this where I had to go in the basement and make sure everything was OK.

Here's a pic of the new footer (or at least a good wedge under those messed up blocks.

After everything dried up I mixed up some type S quickcrete with a small amount of mortar mix and applied a skim coat on the wall to make it nice and smooth and add some more strength.

After this I applied a layer of the tar (Did this from 11pm to 1am after school one night with Helen's help )

Next I had my uncle bring his Bobcat over to dig up the sump pit. The boys kept asking if they could drive

I hoped in the hole and leveled everthing out, then dropped in a sandstone slab. Then we lowered in the sump pit (24" Thick walled plastic pipe my uncle got somewhere.) Notice the newly laid footer tile running into the pit.