X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Inflation!!!!!!

I don't care what the idiots say in Washington DC!
    Inflation is here right now and getting worse.

In 1996 I needed to replace the small plastic windshield washer nozzles on my dodge van. These are tiny and clip right on the windshield wiper arm.

In 1996 I paid $2.95
    in 2006 I paid $4.95
    in 2009 I paid $22.95

I used to joke about dog food..We have two Neapolitan Mastiffs!
    Canned dog food was about $1.00 for 16oz and I said in doggie dollars that would be about $7.00

Well I am seeing cans now over $3.49 and that's for 12 or 14oz not the 16oz you used to get!

Well even people food the 16oz can of corn was $0.33 today you get 12 or 14 oz for $1.19

I am an Amateur Radio operator ka7gkn and talk to folks all over the country [and world]
    I know of only two people that voted for obama...
    What really gets me one of the two is 70 years old ....He's on SSI and medicare etc....

Cactus Man

Re: Inflation!!!!!!

i also have a 1996 dodge van, among others. damn thing won't die! what you're seeing is productin overhead being allocated over fewer and fewer units as 1996 vehicles disappear from the roads. it's not going to get cheaper, only more expensive.
    there's a solution to every problem.....you just have to be willing to find it.

Comment

Re: Inflation!!!!!!

KA7GKN DE KF2VA

Well, I won't blame it on Obama (now you know three guys who voted for him) as this has been coming for a very long time. But I suppose it's only natural to blame the guy whose been in office for less than a year, rather than the one who was in office for eight years.

But, politics aside (I don't want to inflate the discussion beyond inflation ) the prices of food have been going up dramatically. Snacks like potato chips and Doritoes have doubled in the last two years. Four bucks for an 11oz bag of chips that just three years ago sold for less than $2 for 16 oz's.