X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So long, and thanks for all the fish!

At the end of this week, I will be retiring from the Ridge Tool Company (RIDGID)

I've been here almost 30 years, designing various tubing tools, drain cleaning machines, pipe fusion equipment, and pipe threading machines. I started out on the drawing board, then in 1984 moved to 3D CAD. Prior to RIDGID, I was a designer/draftsman at Rockwell International's Power Tool Division. I worked on designs for the tools you most likely used in your high school shop class if they were labeled Delta, Rockwell, or Rockwell/Delta.

I hope I've been able to answer your questions here on the forum, and that you'll use the tools I helped design for decades to come. I’ve really enjoyed meeting some of you at the Roundups and at a couple of previous customer events. And the off-topic discussions have been fun, frustrating, enraging, and entertaining. I’ll still poke my nose in here, but probably not as often. And again, a big thanks to Bill and Mike at Biegel Plumbing for the excellent work on our remodel. I know who to call if I need anything!

So I'm off to watch paint dry. My wife thinks I'll be bored and looking for work by the end of summer. As some of you know, I have a garage full of toys. I have an MGA that needs engine work, a wood shop that's been stuffed against the wall for a few years, a sailboat that hasn't sailed in a lonnngggg time, and a flock of scooters to ride. I belong to a shooting range that I haven't been to for several years, and I want to get back into photography. I don't plan on being bored at all!

The motto here at The Morris Garage (www.morrisgarage.com) has been "If the lights are on and the door is open, then the beer’s free and the talk's cheap." That's an open invitation to any of you travelling through northeast Ohio to stop in and BS for a while. Just drop me a PM and I'll get you directions.