X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employee problem

I have a 37 yo guy who has been working for me since spring. Last week when he got into the truck he moved the back of the seat backward so that he could just see over the dashboard as he was riding. The next day he started wearing his hat with the brim pointed behind his ear, not quite all the way to the rear. I haven't said anything to him yet because I don't know what I can say. I am a small operator, he is my only employee. I don't have any written dress codes or anything like that.

I work in customers houses and often they are home. The hat pointed backward, to me, gives the impression of someone who doesn't care. I don't want to let the guy go for a number of reasons but I can't have him wandering around looking like he doesn't care. I have built my business on attention to detail and this gives the wrong impression.

Does anyone know what I can legally say to him? I would like to tell him he looks stupid and he better get a grip on the fact he is 37 and not 17. If I fire him will he have recourse because I have no written dress code policy? He knows I have work stacked up so I can't say I fired him for lack of work. I certainly don't want to end up in court against some state labor lawyer.

Thanks,
    Tom

Re: Employee problem

OMFG!

Take it off of his head and run over it with an excavator!

The construction world is "supposed" to be the last place on earth for the touchy-feely politically correct B.S.

A good employee that is 37 years old should know what looks appropriate to the masses of where he/she is at and your customer demographic.

Just tell him to turn it around. Or if his feelings get hurt so easy. Ask him too.

J.C.

Comment