Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Airport security and full body scans

Here is an interesting post from an airline pilot;

My name is Michael Roberts, and I am a pilot for ExpressJet Airlines, Inc., based in Houston (that is, I still am for the time being). This morning as I attempted to pass through the security line for my commute to work I was denied access to the secured area of the terminal building at Memphis International Airport. I have passed through the same line roughly once per week for the past four and a half years without incident. Today, however, the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) agents at this checkpoint were using one of the new Advanced Imaging Technology (AIT) systems that are currently being deployed at airports across the nation....
    Read more..http://www.expressjetpilots.com/the-...ay-was-the-day

-------------------

I wonder how many more rights we are going to be forced to loose. I also wonder if the outfit that is going to be supplying and installing the 2,000+ machines that have already been ordered is politically connected to have received the contract.

The largest concern I have though is the risk the people who fly often and have to use these machines regularly will be subjected to. The government has already stated that the units have not been fully tested. There are concerns that the technology concentrates it's power to the skin of the person being scanned so it has a chance of creating skin and breast cancers, much more so then normal x-ray technology. Those who fly often and airline employees who undergo daily scans may be put at a much greater risk.