X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trend?

Is this a trend? Or isolated stories for shock value?

Curious....

My degree isn't worth the debt! - Erik Solecki (1) - CNNMoney

J.C.

Re: Trend?

These days graduates seem to be generally finding that mathematics, engineering and information technology (IT) are the degrees that produce good paying jobs for graduates. The social degrees, psychology and teaching degrees are not worth the money it costs to get them from a financial point of view.

Comment

Also depends on where you live, That IT degree is worth a lot less outside of the major metro areas. I went to school for IT. turns out I didn't want to sit behind a desk all day, and for the area I lived in, the money just wasn't worth it. I paid for college as I went thankfully, so no student loans. Many of the people I went to high school with are currently buried in debt and make well under a middle class income. IMO for most professions college is an outdated social exercise that has little to do with a Real education
      No, it's not rocket science, it's plumbing and unlike rocket science it requires a license.

Comment

It's neither a trend or isolated stories, it's the god damn reality. We live in age where a man is somehow suppose to cough up tens, and in many cases hundreds of thousands of dollars, just for the privilage of improving himself, something made worse by the fact that federal assistance loans do not go away when a person files for bankruptcy. Also, let us just say that even if a graduate doesn't find a job, so instead steps up and starts his own company, just how the hell is such a person suppose to be able to get a loan, even less the capital for a start up when already saddled with a debt larger than most morgages? And yet, we all have been drilled into our skulls since 1st grade how important college is.

Guess it's time roll these out. This person is much more able to explain things than I am.