No announcement yet.

generator problem

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• generator problem

I have a 8000 watt portable Rigid generator (couple years old). I had it running for 30+ continuous hours last week becuse of hurricane Irene. It started & ran flawlessly. After I turned it off, I tried to start it again with the key and there was no connection. I could pull start it no problem, but the key did not work. I took the front of the control panel off thinking there was a loose connection behind the switch (which there was). With everything tightened, it still won't start with the key.
    I'm about to go see if it will still pull start. I'll also run jumper cables to the car to see if that will help. Perhaps dead battery????
    Any thoughts?? I'm no electrician so I'm about to just bring it in to the local repair shop.

Thanks for any help.

Re: generator problem

since you could pull start it, that means that the key, on off is working. double check the connection to the starter solenoid. can you jump the starter and see if it will crank.

if jumping the starter won't crank, then the issues is the starter or starter solenoid.

30 hours of use couldhave vibrated a connection loose.

phoebe it is

Not really enough inf to go on... could be the relay. Or the fuse. Or the battery. Or the wiring harness.
      If a wire was loose, I'd check the inline fuse first. It's right by the starter motor.
      "HONK if you've never seen a gun fired from a moving Harley"

check an clean the battery cables, unbolt wire brush or scrap until bright and re-tighten them, you can also check the locations on the ground and where the battery cable goes to the starter,

many times when a battery fails to start a engine or the solenoid or stater chatters, many times it is the battery connections,