Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Get back to work!

You can retire when you are DEAD!

I'm just kidding! I just now came across this little news article about people working well past the traditional retirement age:
    Attention Boomers: The Economy Needs You to Work Past 70

For us worker ants, I have seen men who's only reason why they are still alive is because they are still working. Hell, when I was a first day apprentice, I was paired out with a 79 year old electrician. When he retired, he passed away just under a year later. While yes people are living a longer life and healthy enough to continue working, I wonder about the long term effects. For the younger crowd, say 18-25 years old, they are facing, without exaggeration, 15 to 20% unemployment rates right now. I believe people working past retirement age is a contributing factor to this unemployment rate, as well as fewer promotions, and finally a proliferation of "dead-end jobs". After all, fewer retirements, fewer positions open up, fewer promotions, and less room to grow with a company to higher skilled levels. In short, workforce stagnation.

Personally, I believe a 75 year old man should not have to pay taxes, especially if he has worked his whole life. For those whom have served, 70 years old, and those served in combat, then 60 years old. This I believe will give the everyman the incentive to leave the workforce to not only make room for the next guy, but to use his retirement fund to support the economy, and finally to enjoy life in one own twilight years.

Re: Get back to work!