cordless tool tip to pass on

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cordless tool tip to pass on

i am an electronics technician by trade, love woodworking and such as a hobby. the members here give so much in knowledge and tips and i have learned a lot on that subject i want to give something back in return. i have given a few things, but not enough for me to consider myself a worthwhile member. so i am always looking for new things to share here...and i may have found one..

as many of you know, battery chargers for cordless tools over time begin to get less and less efficent until they quit working. some people just buy a new charger, because they love the tool...and this is fine, but is expensive

others just say the hell with it and buy a whole new tool

and there are that few (probably the minority of the three) that pay to have their charger fixed. and that is not always cheap. this is where i can help

over time, being moved around, and such begins to degrade the unit. in addition, the heat that is generated from a battery being charged slowly takes its toll on the circuitry inside. the heat over time causes the solder joints to break down. the "elements" also play their toll on the circuit board. the sawdust and such that gets inside isnt much help either.

before you buy new batteries, buy a new tool, or pay to get your current one fixed, grab a screw driver and open the charger. clean out all the saw dust and brush off the contact side of the board with some alcohol