Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do you mark your tools with your ID?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you mark your tools with your ID?

There are two basic objectives when marking your tools with your ID:

1) Discourage theft in the first place by plainly showing they are labeled, and
    2) Assist in recovery effort if a lost/stolen tool is found by the police or some honest person who will return it to you.

How do you mark your tools? Do you permanently etch/engrave them, or use stick-on labels? Besides your name, do you put any other contact info (phone #, drivers license #)?

I'm not in the trades but of course as a home owner worker and as an illustrator, I have all kinds of tools, including some that were my Father's (he was a plumber, steamfitter).

I started marking my tools with an one of those vibrating etchers. Our local library at the time had a handful that you could could be 'checked-out' like a book. I borrowed one a couple of times to etch my initials and the last four digits of my SS#. The local police recommended that as your initials alone could be 'explained' by the thief as something else, like their girl friend or other fake meaning; but there's no explanation for having a tool with both YOUR initials and last four SS numbers. So most of my expensive tools are marked "CWS9999" for example.

CWS

Comment

An etcher was the first thing I thought of. I don't have one, but I have a Dremel and they sell etching bits for the Dremel. But they describe the bits as usable for soft metals. My hand tools might be made of hardened metal, not sure. I will look into this some more. Thanks.

Comment

The problem isn't etching into the metal, or plastic, because the thief can grind that down and make his or her own marks.
        i would suggest if you are going to etch, or scribe,do it in multiple places on the tool. If there is a serial number, etch or scribe your information close by and take a photo.

Comment