X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ridgid warranty issue

One of my Ridgid shop vacs (1of4) recently died. Normally I would just can it and purchase a new one but one of my employees advised me that Ridgid warrants its vacs for "life". I attempted to return the unit to Home Depot and explained the problem. After an assistante manager spent 20 minutes looking over the vac, he told me it looked used and wore out! I explained that I run a engineering/construction Company and yes it was used as were most of my tools including the $15000.00+ of equiptment I purchased from his store over the last year. I made no secret that I was a Contractor or that the unit was over a year old. His response was that the Vac was only warranted against manufacturing defects and not use. I do not know where they fine these people but life is too dam short to deal with them. I acknowledged his excuse, closed our account and walked across the street where Lowes happly agreed to service our $500000.00+ a year in purchases. Do you ever feel your on the Titanic running to the bridge to find the Captain and find Elmer Fudd at the wheel! I'm still not sure that this "almost manager" fully undertstands how loseing our business affects his salary.
    DMB

ActLTD,

Seems like the poor guy didn't have a clue! Too bad his quick response cost HD your business.

But, regarding your warranty and the Ridgid shop vac. The "Full Lifetime Warranty" that Ridgid provides with it's shop vacs is stated as:

"RIDGID tools are warranted to be free of defects in workmanship and material."

"This warranty lasts for the lifetime of the RIDGID too. Warranty coverage ends when the product becomes unusable for reasons other than defects in workmanship or material."