X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drop-in Range to Stand-alone Range

My 30+ year old GE oven finally bit the bullet. Gotta replace it. It's a 27" (nominal) drop-in unit. That is, it is supported by an opening in the counter that acts as cleats, with about 3" air space concealed on each side. It is suspended off of the floor, with a kickplate to close the opening below. I want to remove this oven and replace it with a 30" free-standing unit. What I would like to do is carefully cut the countertop material and apply an edging that matches the rest of the cabinetry, as well as carefully removing front "carcase" parts. Theoretically, my new oven would simply slide into the new opening. Sounds pretty straight-foward to me, but I wonder what pitfalls I might run into in this process. Has anyone had any experience doing what I want to do, or something like it? By the way, I am an avid baker, and I sure do miss my oven. Breads just aren't the same coming out of my smaller convection oven. Thanks so much... EdP
    I will NEVER forget.....umm...

I did exactly what you are talking about. The hardest part was cutting the counter top against the wall behind the old range. Also the floor will not be finished under the old range. If you have a jigsaw, sawsall. and back saw you should be ok.
    SSG, U.S. Army
    Retired
    K.I.S.S., R.T.F.M.

Comment

I have spent many years remodeling and have done this job many times. E-mail me with the info on what kind of counter material, edging, cabinet material etc. and I will try to answer every question for you.

Jim

Comment