X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question re: wet/dry vac for emptying fountain

First off, I looked through the archives and didn't see anything addressing this, so as a newbie I'm sorry if this has somehow been answered somewhere else.

My mother-in-law has a cement fountain in a plastic liner for the surround. The chemicals she uses to treat the water has dissolved a great deal of the cement and it has turned to silt in the surrounding pool. She hasn't done anything with it in sometime, so the water has gotten stagnant and difficult to see through.

She wants to use my 16 gallon contractor wet/dry vac to suck all of the water and silt out. So my questions are:

**Is this even a good use or will I trash the vac trying do the combination liquid/silt?

**If I can do it, what do I need to have in place...special filters, etc. to ensure I do it right and don't wreck the vac?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts and guidance.

Take the filter off of the inside of the vacuum and you should not have any problems. Just wash it out after your done.

Comment

one of these might also help with your task http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/produ...cegjdghldgfm.0
      I think you need to leave the filter on though, check the manual

Comment

wayne, do you know if this pump works at the same time as the vac? or do you have to run them at separate times?

rick.
        phoebe it is

Comment

I dont have one so I cant test the theory but it should work while the vac works especially if the input remains inder water. It must have some type of backflow prevention or the vac would loose too much suction power with the unit installed on the drain port.

Cactusman has one, try PM him. Here is the tread where he talks a bit about it

http://www.ridgidforum.com/forum/sho...ighlight=sears

Comment

sears pump

the sears pump will remove the water from the vac, but I'm not sure how well it will do pushing out the silt and crud.