X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electrical Plug for ShopVac on Table Saws

I recently bought a portable 10" Table saw from HD. The saw works great. I attached my 16 gal shop vac to the saw and it worked great picking up the dust. The only pain is that I have to turn on my shop vac. Turn on my saw. Turn off my saw then turn off my shop vac. This may sound lazy, but it would be great to have an exterior plug on the saw that becomes live simultaneously with the switching on of the saw. Then I can plug in my shop vac and turn it on. Then when I turn on the saw, the shop vac will come on. I suggested this to my Home Depot buddy in the tool department and he thought it was a great idea. I am not an electrician so it may be that it would be too great a drain on the motor to do this. If anyone out there has any ideas about that, I would like to hear them.
    \"Somewhere between the computer plans and picking up a hammer, something goes terribly wrong...\"

That's one way of doing it, but like you said, it could be a "load" problem and if the saw manufacturer adds an accessory outlet that gets activated by the main switch, it puts the manufacturer liable for whatever may get plugged into it. Early on, there were some Personal Computers that had an accessory reptacle for the monitor, the PC's main switch turned them both on. But, like most things... it wasn't long before someone's reasoning took that feature away.

However, it wouldn't take much for the owner to install a switch-activated receptacle on the bench that would turn on the saw and the vac (or whatever was plugged into the receptacle) at the same time. Again circuit load could be a problem if you don't provide the proper amperage, wire, etc. to handle it.

CWS

[ 02-25-2005, 07:37 PM: Message edited by: CWSmith ]

Comment

"If anyone out there has any ideas about that, I would like to hear them."

Save your patent search money, its already been done.