Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 24V Circular Saw R885

Hi,
    Has anyone used the 24V Circular Saw R885 ? It recently came in my combo set and I have been in love with all the other tools, all have more than enough power, especially the drill.
    However, I went to use the circular saw and couldn't even cut a piece of 5/8" plywood!??! I was pretty disappointed, tried both batteries which had full charges and worked well in the other tools. All it did was consistently stall... I couldn't even keep it spooled up by cutting very slowly. It wasn't being bound up at all... just like it had 0 power.

Is this the norm?? I've never used a cordless circular saw before. Should I try to contact ridgid to see if they can refurbish it or something?

Thanks for your help,
    Mike

Re: 24V Circular Saw R885

If you just bought it from Home Depot you can exchange the combo kit for another one. I would first try giving your saw a little breaking in. Try a fully charged battery and just run it in free air not sawing for about 5 minutes. Then switch the battery for one you know is fully charged and try sawing with it.

A friend has an 18 Volt DeWalt and we can saw through 2 x 4s with it pretty fast. Maybe you have a defective blade or it's not installed correctly. If you can, try it with another blade and be sure it's installed correctly. Please see pictures and note the teeth. Red blade needs to rotate CW and silver one CCW.

Please note the teeth and the direction arrows. While I doubt this is the case it is possible to install a sawblade backwards. They sometimes will still cut, but the saw really labors.

Good luck and please post updates.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Woussko; 02-05-2007, 02:25 AM.

Comment

Just used my 18V counterpart to your R885. Its smoother than my 25 year old corded skil circular saw and much more powerful than my old 18v craftsman cordless circular saw.