X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Table Saw Review----> Bad!!!!!!!!

I DO NOT LIKE THIS SAW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I just bought this new Ridgid job-site table saw and after using it for three days, i find that I hate it. I am a professional Hardwood Flooring Installer and I use my saw EVERY day. I have just replaced my Bosch table saw with this one and it is a poor replacement.
    My Issues:
    This fence is bad. It was what attracted my attention in the first place, but that was a mistake. It is too heavy, it FLEXES when it is locked down, by day 2 it was showing SIGNIFICANT run-out and there is no easy place to stick it when not needed. The latches hold it securely during transport, but they are too hard to use quickly and I keep pinching my thumb between it and the table because of the motion used to remove it. Also, what's with the crappy hex head bolts exposed on the face of it????? The fence latch area thingy should also present a parallel line to the front edge of the fence to facilitate plunge cuts, not this weird angle it has. The only thing I did like is the micro adjustable thumb wheel thing but by day 3 it no longer seemed to be getting any traction, it was just skidding under my thumb. The fence also lacks any robustness: the little low-friction plastic guides the serve to keep it square to the table are TINY with little bendy tabs sticking out. How long before these are broken???? In my life, i give it about a week. (Beware the posts discussing fence issues and customer service posted elsewhere here, my fence didn't seem to be un-square,not visually anyways, but that flex i see has me worried)

the table ain't great neither: I do a lot a free hand cuts and I find that the handle(?) thing formed into the left side of the table edge throws me off, causing these cuts to wobble( i know... no free hand cuts allowed) Never the less, I do alot of 'em and this feature doesn't help.