Stuff your lifetime warranty

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stuff your lifetime warranty

I too was sucked in by the promise of a lifetime warranty with free replacement. Break a Craftsman take it in and get a new one on the spot. Same with Snap-on, Mac, and many others. Vehicles under warranty that require downtime and you get a loaner.
    I'm a selfemployed electrical contractor and use my 18v hammer drill/driver daily. Then I noticed my bits were wobbling and the chuck wouldn't lock them in. One of the fingers in the chuck was worn smooth and would no longer grip the bits whether they were round or hex shanks. So I drove an hour back to the store and talked to the same guy that sold me the piece of junk and asked for a new one. After getting the runaround for 10 minutes they asked me to leave as the discussion started to get a little heated when he told me I had to send it to a service center to be evaluated. Nice.
    Spend $500.00 and still have to drill holes by hand. Last time I buy any Rigid product.

Craftsman & other brand non powered hand tools, I agree. Corded or battery powered tools though are usually handled totally differently in my experience.

[ 06-11-2004, 03:05 PM: Message edited by: JJC ]

Comment

What kind of car do you drive that you get a loaner for warranty work?
      I decided to change calling the bathroom the "John" and renamed it the "Jim". I feel so much better saying I went to the Jim this morning.

Comment