Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are old solder joints permanent?

This is just out of curiosity.

Shortly after moving into my house, I set my bathroom on fire trying to separate a solder joint on a toilet valve.

I put it out with minimal damage and then just cut the damned thing off.

When all was said and done though, I took the cut off valve out back behind the house and just went to town on it with the torch. The pipe never seperated from the valve.

Was this a lost cause? Pointless effort? After 20 years, do solder joints just become permanent or something? I have no experience soldering pipes and just figured that with enough heat, the two would come apart. Was I wrong?

I did learn a few things and when I get around to doing the plumbing in my shower, I'll definitely be using a heat shield of some sort to keep the flame from the flammables. I'll also keep a bucket of water nearby...

too much heat will burn the fitting and it will not come apart. i will add soldering flux to the joint while heating and this will help it come apart. not too much heat. add solder to also help judge the joint. you also have to drain all the water and steam from the joint.

rick.
    phoebe it is

Comment

Yeah, I learned that tidbit about letting all the water out after the fact as well. I figured that's why it wouldn't come apart in the first place, so that's why I brought it out back to give it another shot.

So you're saying it's never permanent then, right? Sounds now like I had too much heat rather than not enough. I would have melted the whole thing into a blob of metal if I could have at that point.

It makes sense to use some solder. Obviously if I can melt the new solder, I've got enough heat to melt the stuff inside it.

Thanks PR!

Comment

Re: Are old solder joints permanent?