X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need help

Hello to all i have come across a little problem i have been asked to handycap a kitchen. I have a general idea of it as i have done bathrooms. But the thing i have is to set a kitchen sink up what highth should it be set at. The local plumbing codes are very vage on this. Thank you for your time.

Here is a place to start:

http://www.askthebuilder.com/B162_Ba...d_Design.shtml

Don't know if its what you need. The ADA website gives all the rules but is short on specs that I could find.

Go
    Practicing at practical wood working

Comment

thank you

Thank you gofor i will give it a try.

Comment

I'm no expert... but whatever height your counters are... I'd go with that.

Comment

Try here:

http://www.ad-as.com/kb/kb_ada.htm

Mark
          "Somewhere a Village is Missing Twelve Idiots!" - Casey Anthony

I never lost a cent on the jobs I didn't get!

Comment

Drainmaster

While this may seem a bit crazy try calling a few of the modern nursing homes (also retirement centers) in your area. Their handy man or their administrator should be able to help or give you the name of someone to contact. Their head nurses would know if their sinks are at a good height for the people living there with special needs.
            Last edited by Woussko; 01-12-2007, 03:34 AM.

Comment

Hi! Drainmaster, If there are regulations, then of course, you must abide by them. However, in the abscence of regulations, or under special conditions, as nescessary to make life easier for a handycapped person, then you can use the "Danish Method" for setting the height. You measure the distance from floor level, up to the bottom of the 90' bent elbow, and that's the height you build the kitchen surfaces to.