Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP: Unable to reflow the old solder material.

Hi, obviously I'm a noob and your help is much appreciated. I have some soldering / brazing understanding (used to sell these stuffs, learned from product tranings, some were hands on...).

I have a MOST unreliable colleaque at work (a plumber from our maintenance dept) whom I paid him to added a new cold water line (copper) from the garage out to the side yard. It was done just last summer. The joint where the Cu pipe leaves the shut off valve was seperated during winter & he has been breaking his promises for the past 8 weeks to come out to fix his work.

so I think, WTF, I'd just DIY.... went o HD, bought some plumbing solder paste (I think they are easier to handle), a burner, a heat mat, and some flux...

The problem I have is, there is a decent size solder ball left on the pipe which I want to (must I ?) remove before I will re-solder the p[ipe back to the valve.. but no matter how long I heat it up, it refuse to flow. I added soem flux onto it and it still refuse to flow.....

I went to HD last night and bought a pipe cutter, am thinking that I might just cut off a section of the pipe, and replace it with a new pipe.. obviosuly I need to buy a few more copper "connectors" to do the job...

But heck ... it gotta be easier than that! So may I ask the experts here: why couldn;t I reflow the old solder material left on the pipe and re-solder the darn thing together again? What have I doone wrong? or what have I missed? What is the PROPER approach to handing this sitution -- and how-to?

Thanks in advance for your help!

John

Re: HELP: Unable to reflow the old solder material.

is it possible that you were next to standing water in the pipe? was there steam coming off the pipe while attempting this? not sure was this inside of the exisiting valve?