X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cast Iron Replacement

What's the easiest way to remove a vertical (& corroded) cast iron dwv stack from the floor flange? I intend to cut it top and bottom, then remove it, and replace it with pvc & neoprene sleeve, but first I have to get old lead & oakum out, which I've never done before.
    Alternately I could use cast iron again with oakum & lead wool, but because the top piece will still be in place, I'll likely have to splice in a section using sleeves. Is there a better way to do this?
    Regardless I am still going to have to remove whatever is left of the original pipe because it is leaking about a half inch off the point where it enters the floor Y cleanout.

Thanks.

Re: Cast Iron Replacement

Originally posted by davidson View Post
    What's the easiest way to remove a vertical (& corroded) cast iron dwv stack from the floor flange? I intend to cut it top and bottom, then remove it, and replace it with pvc & neoprene sleeve, but first I have to get old lead & oakum out, which I've never done before.
    Alternately I could use cast iron again with oakum & lead wool, but because the top piece will still be in place, I'll likely have to splice in a section using sleeves. Is there a better way to do this?
    Regardless I am still going to have to remove whatever is left of the original pipe because it is leaking about a half inch off the point where it enters the floor Y cleanout.

Thanks.
    Here's some options:

1) Cut the entire hub off and connect with a no-hub coupling.

2) If you have to remove the lead, I have found the easiest way is to drill holes in the lead with the largest drill bit you can fit. Then pull the lead out with a "lead pick". If you don't have a lead pick (which you probably don't because leading tools are hard to find these days) you can probably work it out with a slim chisel or strong screw driver.
    the dog

Comment