X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• washer, valve seat, valve, and stem replaced but still dripping

Hello, I've combed the other responses to fixing shower faucet leaks but I couldn't find another scenario that was just like mine.

Basically a newbie here but I've replaced braided hoses, backyard faucet washers, and sink tap single catridges.

The latest challenge is a leaky shower spigot in my 87 year old house. So far I've changed the flat compression washer (and valve gasket) on both the hot and cold taps, as well as the removable valve seat, and entire valve/stem/handle on the cold tap (brand new hardware from Ace).

Problem is I'm still getting a slow drip out of the spigot, and to really slow it down I have to tighten the hot and cold taps/handles super tight after a shower to get it to slow down, not to mention that turning the new cold stem seems too stiff, even though it came coated with plumber's grease out of the box/brand new. Is the packing nut too tight? I did a half turn on the packing nut after hand tightening, but water was still coming out through the stem so I had to tighten the packing nut another 1/2 turn, which did stop the stem water.

One thing to mention is that I didn't use any pipe compound or tape on the valve seat when I put the new one in on the cold side. Is the compound (or tape) absolutely necessary for the valve seat or anywhere else (I didn't put it on the new valve threads either)?

Also, when I used the valve seat wrench I tried to give it a little extra tighten and the wrench slipped a bit but I re-examined the seat and there wasn't any damage to the seat itself, but some slight damage to the inside square where the wrench fits.

So to summarize I guess have five questions:

1 - How can I adjust the stem so it's not so stiff to turn, without allowing water to leak out the front of it?

2 - Should I use pipe thread compound (or tape) on the valve seat threads?