Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sump pump and piping questions

Hi all,

We recently moved into a new (to us) house about a month ago and I finally have some time to address some of the plumbing issues.

The big one i have questions about is the sump pump and piping.

For perspective, here is a picture of the entire setup:

The setup appears strange to me (a complete novice) in that there are quite a few bends; it's overall very rigid; the pump cycles on and off every 5 minutes or so; and there is always a very loud "thunk" when the pump shuts off. This reverberates through the house as the piping is currently touching the wall. In fact, the pipe is pressed up hard against the wall near the corner.

where the piping goes through the wall. I suspect due to the rigidity, the joint had worked itself loose and is now leaking (very slow leak), leaving behind some serious mineral deposits.

- what works best to remove the deposits? Commercial product like CLR, or homebrew with various mild acids, borax, etc (along with some elbow grease, of course)?
    - It appears that the bend is intact, so don't plan on breaking through the wall any time soon. I plan on whipping out my handy reciprocating saw and cutting that sucker midway. Would a rubber coupling be advisable there, given that the pipe farther upstream is secured to the wall?

Also, the paper you see actually damps the sound of the pump shutting off and reverbing through the wall - don't laugh! I will ensure that there is some clearance between the pipe and the wall when I fix it.

Next up is the section of pipe from the pump to the one way valve.

- Is it (or will it be) an issue that the one way valve is so high above the pump? I would have guessed that it should be 2-3' after the pump. I was thinking about relocating it, but won't if it's not necessary.