Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sump pump vs. sewage pump

Hey, guys,

The pump for our laundry discharge sump pit just went kaput after 33 years, so I have no knowledge or experience with this stuff. I cleaned out the sump pit and went to buy a sump pump, which was what was there for all these years. When I got there, the guy that was helping me told me that I needed a sewage pump, so I bought one. Got home and noticed on the box that it said it had a 2-3" discharge. The discharge piping in my house is 1 1/2". I thought this might burn out the motor by making it work too hard, so I returned to the store to ask about it. Another guy there told me that I didn't need a sewage pump, and so I returned it and bought a sump pump, which was what was there all these years. I get back home, start reading the manual, and it says it's not for laundry discharge.

My question is this: What difference does it make? I thought sewage pumps were used to handle solids, and my sump pit is used strictly for my laundry discharge water (no solids). Which pump should I use?

I'd appreciate any input I can get on this. Thanks!
    Last edited by greekchick; 08-18-2007, 06:59 PM. Reason: just to clarify

Re: sump pump vs. sewage pump

typically the 1.5'' sump pump can handle a washing machine discharge. the issue is in the bottom grate assy that can plug when lint is dumped into it. most sump pumps can handle solids up to .33'' the laundry is clean water except that the lint will get caught in the grate and can get wrapped around the impeller.

a zoller m53 line of pump is a typical 1.5'' sump pump and a zoller m267 is a 2'' ejector pump.

33 years is great and hard to believe. i would duplicate the pump you had and be set for life.

personally, i would use the sump pump m53 in my application. maybe even remove the grate to prevent lint from catching.

just my opinion as i don't have any installations that are just laundry machines.

rick.