X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dishwasher Vent

I am an amateur handy man around the house. I am remodeling our kitchen and have ordered a new counter top and sink. However, I don't want that nasty vent sticking up above my new quartz counter and sink.

Can I mount the Y pipe under the counter instead or is that to low? Do I have to take the vent all the way under the floor to the outside of the house? (that would mean the vent hose would drop below the dishwasher)

Any advice will be appreciated.
    Marti

Re: Dishwasher Vent

Air Gaps are code in KY for keeping that "nasty" germ/bacteria laden waste from ever reentering your dishwasher in the event of a clog.

I'm reworking a drain system after christmas where somebody dropped the Air Gap under the sink, lost its effectiveness and destroyed the base of the cabinet. I'm not coming back until all the black mold is gone, new surface to bottom of sink base.

Air Gaps serve more purpose in the lines of backflow safety than what the end user is willing to understand.

It protects in the event of a clogged kitchen sink drain; fluid dynamics will send that reversal of flow back to the dishwasher.....not knowing it has happened.

You are gambling at best....
    Northern Kentucky Plumbers Twitter Feed | Plumbing Videos

Comment

Marti,

The dishwasher is required by the Uniform Plumbing Code but not by the International Plumbing Code. Oddly enough Washington adopted all International Codes with the exception of the Plumbing Code where they adopted the Uniform Plumbing Code. I reviewed Washington's amendments to the UPC and there was no exception for dishwasher air gaps. In other words you must install a dishwasher air gap to be legal.

Mark
      "Somewhere a Village is Missing Twelve Idiots!" - Casey Anthony

I never lost a cent on the jobs I didn't get!

Comment

when I was plumbing in Washington, a "Johnson Tee" was an acceptable alternative to the air gap.