Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PEX questions for the experts

Hi,

First of all, I am not a plumbing expert, but an enthusiastic DIYer, so pardon the possibly stupid questions.

I am in the process of building my manroom/workshop in 1/3 of my new 3 car detached garage. I want to put a sink and urinal (yes a urinal, despite the threats from my wife) in there. I have the sewer line roughed in and connected the city system. Now I just need to get water from my house to the detached garage. I plan on just running a cold line and then using a tankless heater in the garage if I decide I want hot water at some point. Fortunately I found an old PVC sprinkler line that runs underground 90% of the way between the two structures. So my plan is to use this pvc as conduit and run a length of PEX through it between point A and B. At the house this will put one end of the pex close to the sprinkler system pressure backflow antifreezing thingies (see, not an expert) that comes out of the house, making it possible to avoid making another penetration into the basement and possible giving me some freeze protection (although I know this may be a 3 season manroom).

So after all that, my question is: How do I connect the pex to the copper coming out of the backflow thingy? Most of the PEX stuff seems to need a special $200 tool and since I am going to be making a grand total of 3-4 connections that seems like a lot of money and even that seems like it only works for pex-pex connections. I want to go copper-PEX and then back to copper once it is in the garage (or can I run PEX all the way to the fixtures)

Thanks in advance for the help.

Re: PEX questions for the experts

I'll let someone else go into details on your question, I'm just not into helping the diyer. But I'm going to save you some possible heart ache by suggesting you make sure the urinal you plan to use is compatable with a residential water service. Most are not.
    the dog