Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Underground Air Compressor Line

Hello All,

I am building a shed in my backyard and want to build an enclosed area for a air compressor. When I run power out to my shed I also would like to run plumbing from my compressor to my garage. I will also run a line into the shed. I am a motorcycle/ATV/PWC mechanic but work on my own cars and trucks as well. I do it all sort of speak.

My questions are these:

A) I've seen in your forum the use of Copper piping for running air, however, I have read that I should stay away from copper and PVC and use a metal pipe. How true is this and why should I stay away from copper aside from the cost? Is there a better alternative?

B) Should I stick with a 2 stage compressor because of my versatile work in mechanics? I am running a small 40gallon single stage compressor with not near enough ummmffff to break the big botls loose.

C) What size compressor should I be looking for to run grinders and possibly paint sprayers?

I would rather set my shed and garage up properly the first time since I'm taking out a loan to complete some home improvements/

Thank you for your help.

Chad

Re: Underground Air Compressor Line

I put in a true 5 hp two stage air compressor, a few years ago, and run it about 140 pounds, it has a 80 gallon ASME tank on it, and I could not believe how nice all the air tools ran with a good compressor and with a LARGE regulator, even a 1" air wrench, for truck tires, and the like, and more than enough air and pressure.