Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "New Galvanized Pipe" leaks - Right Way?

I've been doing plumbing a little here and there for many years. But I have never asked how to do things "right".

Since I have a lot of work to do with new galvanized pipe soon, I suppose it is time I learned...

Every time I assemble a series of galvanized pipes with many joints, there is always one joint which will leak a little (say 1 joint out of 10). Tightening stops it. I mostly use Teflon tape.

And I many times have leak problems with things like valves or "T's" where they need to be oriented a certain direction.

Also I have a fear of tightening things too tight and breaking them (from experience, but never had this happen with galvanized pipe).

So what is the correct way to do this. Do I need to clean the threads first (I have not been doing this). Maybe a bit of dirt is in a thread or something?

Proper way to apply Teflon tape?

And how tight is tight enough?

Re: "New Galvanized Pipe" leaks - Right Way?

Are you going to be making your own cut and thread ends.

Comment

No. I have my pipes cut and threaded at the hardware store. BTW I will be working with mostly 1/2 and 3/4 galvanized.

Comment

If the machine they are using has an adjustable threading head they may not set it correctly.They need the taper on the pipe to match the fitting.Three loose,three tight,three left is a saying an old timer told me when I was starting out.This was with domestic fittings back in the day though.The imported pipe now is much softer and easy to tighten past the designed taper of the fitting.

Three to four rotations of teflon tape in the same direction of the threads with pipe dope on the first few threads.

Once a joint is complete don't let it move around ruining it's seat,use a backup wrench to keep it immobile.

Comment

Too tight is an individual term.