X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Goodman Furnaces and air filters

I had the 6 year old Goodman serviced this winter and weas told to only use the cheap spun glass air filters and also to install them on the diagonal in the cold air return box. These filters compared to the 3M ones I had ben using are useless. Anyone know why I should do this?

Re: Goodman Furnaces and air filters

Well I'm new to the HVAC trade, but what the installer might have been getting at is if you put more resrticting filters on the system the way it is set will cause less air to flow over the evap coil. Which would not allow the superheat to build to the mfg's recommendation (flood the coil). A possible solution with a more restricting filter would be to increase the blower fan speed to put more air over the evap coil. You should have 400cfm over the evap coil per ton. This should have been tested and set at start up.
    Have you tried calling the installer's service manager? He might be able to explain.
    ANYONE CAN TAKE THE HELM WHEN THE SEA IS CALM.

Comment

Originally posted by mtnman1100 View Post
      Well I'm new to the HVAC trade, but what the installer might have been getting at is if you put more resrticting filters on the system the way it is set will cause less air to flow over the evap coil. Which would not allow the superheat to build to the mfg's recommendation (flood the coil). A possible solution with a more restricting filter would be to increase the blower fan speed to put more air over the evap coil. You should have 400cfm over the evap coil per ton. This should have been tested and set at start up.
      Have you tried calling the installer's service manager? He might be able to explain.
      In laymans terms; better filters restrict air causing your indoor unit (evaporator) to freeze up unless the unit was designed for it.
      Buy cheap, buy twice.

Comment