Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• custom dryer vent cleanout & ABS pipe

hello all.
    The last time I was here I was looking for advice on a dryer vent cleanout.
    I have since come up with an idea for a vacuum powered maintenance device.
    I'm a retired sheet metal mechanic who used to install dryer vents as part of my job doing residental work, and after years of seeing all kinds of problems with dryer vents, I made a custom box for my own house, and it hasn't worked as good as I'd hoped, so I'm on to my next invention.
    The contractor who'd installed my dryer line had installation mechanics who lacked some common sense about lint, gravity, and humidity, or the lack thereof. Now I'm left with the mess.
    What I want to do is to make/buy two ell fittings that will allow me to attach hoses from a shop vac, and place those inline with my dryer vent line. I'll then place the shop vac motor on top of a metal box that I'll make, along with electrical, timer switch, etc..., and once a week or so turn it on from a timer switch to "flush" the lint out of the system to keep my vent line clean.
    Forget the fact that I shouldn't need to do this that often, or have so elaborate a device for cleaning out my dryer vent line. I'm disgusted with having to clean out my line once a year, and after my last crawl under my subfloor, I'd rather do this once more, and leave it alone for the next 40 years. (I'll figure out a way to clean out the large metal box I'll place the shop vac motor on later. I have a basic idea, but it's not important here. 8 years got me a sum total of 1 cubic foot of compressed lint in my dryer vent pipe.)

My real question has to do with using ABS ell fittings that have another line going off them as my ells.
    1- Does ABS have a high enough heat capacity/resitivity to not be bothered by dryer heat once it get's 3 to 10 feet away from the dryer heat source?