X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• to use or not to use sharkbite

just wondering how they work and maybe some pro and cons .

THANKS

Re: to use or not to use sharkbite

take a gander......................http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVvcw..._sharkbite.php

Comment

there has been several reported failures with sharkbite in harsher conditions

Comment

As a plumber, I see what happens to rubber seals in contact with chlorinated/treated water all the time.
        In knowing that, I won't use them.
        They are completely dependant on a rubber O-ring to seal.
        If harsh weather has already proven them ineffective, it's probably symbolic of wear and tear over time as well.

Do you have any links on this info?

Comment

Originally posted by DuckButter
          They are completely dependant on a rubber O-ring to seal.
          So are 1/4 turn stops, Nibco valves, many ball valves, and commercial ProPress fittings.

Comment

its not the o-ring that the problem with them. its the low pressure they can only opearte at. 200psi or below.

Comment

Originally posted by Herk View Post
              So are 1/4 turn stops, Nibco valves, many ball valves, and commercial ProPress fittings.
              Thats exactly my point.
              How often do you get calls for leaking stops & valves?
              When you can no longer tighten packing nuts, you can at least replace them as they're intentionally installed where we can access them.
              Sharkbites are allowed in concealed locations in many jurisictions now...I can just see the problems down the road.
              Propress is new also, time is the test.

Originally posted by nibcorules View Post
              its not the o-ring that the problem with them. its the low pressure they can only opearte at. 200psi or below.
              I sampled sharkbite on a low pressure application, a baseboard run in a garage.