X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Joining Copper in Today's Market

Given the current economic trends, I was wondering if more or less businesses are joining copper with Press Tools. It would stand to reason that the increase in copper prices justifies spending money on tools that help speed up the process. Is this true? Is more Pressing being done this year over last year? Please tell me your thoughts! Thanks.

Re: Joining Copper in Today's Market

Originally posted by RIDGID Dave View Post
    Given the current economic trends, I was wondering if more or less businesses are joining copper with Press Tools. It would stand to reason that the increase in copper prices justifies spending money on tools that help speed up the process. Is this true? Is more Pressing being done this year over last year? Please tell me your thoughts! Thanks.
    As a service plumber, I cant justify the cost of the tool. For the amount of sweating I do on the average day it does not make financial sense. Speed is always important but it must make financial sense too. Its not to say that I wouldn't think of using it on my boiler installs, I just am not too familiar with the tool and would like to see more promotions for it in the local supply houses.

Comment

I think propress is for a niche market. Not many people (at least not my customers) have the need for such a machine. The commercial sector would have more use as they need the repairs done as quickly as possible and have more money to warrant propress's use.

I firmly believe that pex will become the mainstay in American plumbing as copper prices rise. The few companies that have propress will have to market themselves towards copper instalation and repair. Government buildings in this area are getting planned to be plumbed in cpvc if that tells you anything about the decline of copper.