X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• setting a tub on slab

I am a general contractor lacking in plumbing expertise. Recently I have been getting a few bathroom remodel jobs. Thus far there has been access underneath all of them however I have a bid on a bath remodel over slab. Here is my problem.... How do I make the drain connections with no access? Do I just rough in the drain stub as best I can, glue it up and drop the whole tub on top and hope the connection is good? Attach the waste and overflow first then drop the tub on them? Please advise.

Thanks,

Re: setting a tub on slab

The first thing you want to do is get a Above-The-Floor-Rough tub. Not all manufacturers have these available but it will save you some headaches when setting the tub.

It's still a trial and error thing. Dryfit the drain and drop the tub on it. Pull the tub and make corrections. Usually take 2 or 3 trials before I get it just right. Before you close it up test the drain AND overflow. Usually I do this with an inspection mirror.

Comment

Originally posted by shan View Post
      I am a general contractor lacking in plumbing expertise. Recently I have been getting a few bathroom remodel jobs. Thus far there has been access underneath all of them however I have a bid on a bath remodel over slab. Here is my problem.... How do I make the drain connections with no access? Do I just rough in the drain stub as best I can, glue it up and drop the whole tub on top and hope the connection is good? Attach the waste and overflow first then drop the tub on them? Please advise.

Thanks,
      You dry fit the W&O and tub in the location and make sure you have a good fit then pull the tub back out glue it all up and set the tub again. It is something plumbers do all of the time and it may make more sense for you to hire a plumber rather than setting the tub multiple times.

Mark
      "Somewhere a Village is Missing Twelve Idiots!" - Casey Anthony